Poets logo

Lost in Conversation

By Jess Boyes

By Jess BoyesPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2024
26
Alzheimer dementia nature tree loss of memory and mental abilities concept with green sky. Generative AI Less By DCP

Your brilliance, your wise advice, your guidance, your love, the support you gave,

oh how I crave that again, just like any child would.

I yearn for your words, words of comfort like a warm blanket wrapped all around me,

oh, you were so proud of me; my number one fan, you’re still in there somewhere,

aren’t you?

Somewhere you’re there, lost in a continuous loop of conversation, on repeat, again, and again, and again,

it will never be over, because you don’t remember,

oh, please won’t someone find the answer?!

God dammit, I miss you! I just want to kiss you and you’ll know who it is as if by magic,

fuck, this is tragic, but I just wanna say, “Mamma, it’s me, it’s your Jay!”

and then you’ll come back to me - one day….

sad poetryperformance poetry
26

About the Creator

Jess Boyes

From Melbourne, Australia, I love creative writing and food, particularly a good quality cheese or some sort of dairy.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Gargie S Anand3 months ago

    Beautiful!

  • Andrea Corwin 3 months ago

    Congrats on T.S. and your touching story that is so hard to tell/share. 😞

  • Paul Stewart3 months ago

    Sorry about lateness of saying this but congrats on Top Story - so glad more people got to see this poignant thing of raw beauty!

  • Congratulations on your top story. I lost my mom in 1988 to a massive heart attack. It was so sudden. I cried for days. She had the heartattack working in her rose garden. Mama Loved The Roses was the theme of her celebration to the beyond .

  • I'm sorry ... be strong. Congratulations on TS!

  • Anna 3 months ago

    It almost made me cry congrats on TS🥹

  • Mije Mwanza 3 months ago

    Your work is life giving and amazing

  • Sahib ali3 months ago

    This story making me sad.

  • Gerald Holmes3 months ago

    This brought tears to my eyes. I lost my mother last summer and I am still working on the effects of that day. Thank you for writing this and congrats on a well deserved Top Story.

  • Brenton F3 months ago

    So many dear ones lost to us and not by choice! Your words have captured so many tenders moments so beautifully.

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Jazzy 3 months ago

    I am so sorry for the pain in this, but hopefully this helped.

  • JBaz3 months ago

    If this is based on a real life situation then I feel for you Regardless this is absolutely beautiful

  • I'm so sorry you're going through this Jess. I can only imagine how heartbreaking this is. Sending you and your mom lots of love and hugs 🥺❤️

  • Paul Stewart3 months ago

    This cuts deep. Beautifully expressed...but sad....I presume autobiographical? It's a beautiful piece though, Jess!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.