Poets logo

LOST GENERATION

POEM

By Brotus KimutaiPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
1
LOST GENERATION
Photo by Andrew Neel on Unsplash

I am part of a lost generation.

and I refuse to believe that

I can change the world.

I realize this may be a shock but

“Happiness comes from within”

is a lie and

“Money will make me happy.”

So in 30 years, I'll tell my children

they are not the most important thing in my life.

My employer will know that

I have my priorities straight because

Work

is more important than

family

I tell you this

once upon a time

families stayed together

But this will not be true in my era

This is a quick-fix society

Experts tell me

30 years from now I'll be celebrating the 10th

anniversary of my divorce

I do not concede that

I will live in a country of my own making

In the future

Environmental destruction will be the norm

No longer can it be said that

My peers and I care about this Earth.

It will be evident that

My generation is apathetic and lethargic

It is foolish to presume that

There is hope

And all this will come true unless we choose

To reverse it.

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Brotus Kimutai (Author)2 months ago

    Guys send me a tip for more adventure and more stories ..thanks in advance 🙏🙏

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.