Poets logo

Losing Me

A poem with a sense of home created from bananagram tiles!

By Issie AmeliaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
10
Losing Me
Photo by Zhen Hu on Unsplash

Losing Me

Sorry your lordship.

I desire sombre lilies

from lovely greenery.

I devour you.

I worship you, Summer.

Serve me spoons of silky clouds

when snow whirls longingly,

icing upon ruined evenings.

Your hummingbirds' wings beckon sunrise.

My yelling owls conjure moonrise.

Bees expire religiously,

whispering honey in hives

"Rebellion before sleep!"

Groundhogs dig deeply,

drilling holes in glimmering, icy soil.

Unknowingly in bones,

I lock loose flowers.

You could lose.

Will lose.

Enough . . .

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

I wrote this poem first, for it is a constrained poem without the letters A and T, and is exactly 75 words long. I thought it would be a good idea to craft it from Bananagrams tiles. Each clump of connected words are lines, while each photograph of the tiles are the stanzas. I wanted the “I” to be the entity that changes the seasons, killing the warmth and joy and making it the cold and dead of winter. Placing the words was hard, and I often had to find a new word in order to connect the pome. However, this process really helped me to dissect the poem.

Bananagrams and scrabble are games that I play with my family, whenever I am home. My favourite season is spring, and I do find that in New Jersey the winter kills summer very quickly. Another aspect of this poem that gives me a warm sense of home is that my parents helped me construct the tiles, at times suggesting words, phrases, and orders!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

I hope you enjoyed this crafty poem! If you did, be sure to check out more of my poetry!

art
10

About the Creator

Issie Amelia

She has a Master in Creative Writing, Publishing and Editing from University of Melbourne, and Bachelor in Creative writing from George Washington University.

She currently teaches yoga, Pilates and boxing fitness in Melbourne, Australia.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.