Poets logo

Losing A Sibling Or Two Or Three Is Enough For Me!

Spend time grieving and time remembering the good times. If you shed a tear, make it for a short time and then move on I say in this rhyme.

By Denise E LindquistPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
6
Losing A Sibling Or Two Or Three Is Enough For Me!
Photo by David Fanuel on Unsplash

Gezhay manido, Kind and Loving Spirit,

Enough of loss

So says the boss

I am the boss of this rhyme

We can continue to grieve another time.

They say celebrating life is what funerals are about now

I say bs to that and it was my grandpa’s favorite swear word anyhow.

He would say oh bs before there was even a game by that name

I had so many laughs with my sisters and brother

I will remember that and try not to bother

With any other sad memories today

Watching Faith keep my mother on a diet was the best

I have lots of memories to keep me going forever and they are better than the rest

Faith had the methods for keeping Mom true to her diet

Watching that was such a riot.

She was 16 and I was 10. Mom must have been 30 or so.

It worked too as Mom never got that weight back, oh no!

Then there was Carrie telling of how she dyed her hair blue

I would have loved it but her hubby did not oh boo

He had her head under the sink until it was her head and her face that was all blue too

Carrie the artist had many stories to tell,

and I loved the mud baths and facials as well

So, let’s hear it for the good times.

And forget about the bad time rhymes.

Tim was having so much fun with his girls.

Taking them on the 4-wheeler for twirls.

Telling me how proud he was of them as

they were receiving awards and other jazz.

He was the best dad.

His death was so sad.

Miigwech, Thank you,

It's you know who!

sad poetryheartbreak
6

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Awesome work!

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    I know this was suppose to be serious but could not help but laugh, 😂🤣this poem is hilarious. He but her head in the sink until her head and face was all blue. When the older generation use the bs word , looking back , it sound funny now.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.