Poets logo

Looking Beyond the Light That I See a Story of a Job Corps Student

A Poem

By Chris CrossPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

As I look beyond the light that I see,

I wish I was only by the sea.

Hearing the waves of the ocean shores,

And hearing the Laughter and the cash in the stores.

But here I am looking beyond this light that I see,

I wish i was there instead of here so i can be set free.

Here i see only numbers and buildings, a barcode for everything

I feel trapped in a prison that I put myself in, I signed the paper myself.

I work for the government, because i needed help by the government,

I had only little education and no food, or a home to stay in.

I thought this was a way to restart, a reset button, but i look at it now,

as another link to my chain, another book that i carry. another cell to stay in.

But sooner or later i will look at the light again and

see that it is right next to me. I reach out for the light and I touch it.

I will then zoom through the stars and swing through planets.

And then i will be beyond that light that I see

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.