Poets logo

Look

By Ann Garcia

By Ann GarciaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read

What is on her lash?

It is another crusted lash

With black mascara

Thick and covered

By another

Long, Black lash.

What is on her face?

Look,

I see her there

Puckering up her lips

For her followers

To share

In on her beauty.

Cover up girl!

Wear a bra!

The only thing that makes you

You

Is how willing you are

To go far.

Try modesty

Try decency!

Oh, mom, you say

Deliver me!

I am not you!

I am me

Your daughter

The emo wannabe

The non-binary

I see no color

Sex

Religion

Or Creed.

I see a person

Like I see in me.

Compassion? I ask.

You nod your head.

I can't be like you, mom.

As she glues another

Black, crusted

Eyelash on.

art

About the Creator

Ann Garcia

Teacher by day, Home Care Aid by night, writer and artist in the wee hours of the morning.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    AGWritten by Ann Garcia

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.