Poets logo

Long Sleeves

Scars

By KodahPublished 16 days ago โ€ข 1 min read
19
Pinterest

I used to create art

Abstract art where lines pirouette through my arms

My thighs

Unwilling to end, but oh so easy to begin

I didn't like this art, Never did

At all times I didn't think

How this would affect my near future self

Now I'm waiting for the moment when my kids ask

"What's on your arms?"

Abstract art where lines pirouette through my arms

Scarred they are, oh I'm scarred too

My long sleeves I used to wear

Won't change the future

My art will always still be apart of me~

But it's beautiful, it always was

There was no need to wear any long sleeves before.

Mental Healthart
19

About the Creator

Kodah

- Storyteller, Love/Romance, Poetry, Dark, Mental health, Psychological, Surreal, Nature, Mythical

~๐“ข๐“ฝ๐“ธ๐“ป๐“ฒ๐“ฎ๐“ผ ๐“ฌ๐“ช๐“ท ๐“ซ๐“ฎ ๐“ช ๐“ต๐“ฒ๐“ฝ๐“ฝ๐“ต๐“ฎ ๐“ญ๐“ฎ๐“ฎ๐“น~

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson12 days ago

    Brilliantly penned and loved it!!!๐Ÿ’•โค๏ธโค๏ธ

  • Jade Loson14 days ago

    Some very strong lines here. Very beautiful poem Kodah๐Ÿ’œ

  • There's a stark emptiness to this that is haunting in a very similar way to cutting. I've had lots of kids ask about my own scars and surprisingly it's never as world-ending as I expect. Remarkable bravery posting this, stay healthy.

  • Lunaverse15 days ago

    Very poignant, great work!

  • Caroline Craven15 days ago

    Gosh, this was painful to read and such a brave and authentic poem. I love the line: Abstract art where lines pirouette through my arms... So well written Kodah. Wishing you all the very best.

  • Kageno Hoshino15 days ago

    Wonderful poem

  • Priya P.15 days ago

    Wonderfully written! Nice work Kodah!

  • Carrie 16 days ago

    Lovely work! Well done ๐Ÿ˜Š

  • I had the strong urge to cut again today. But I'm clean for 3 years now. I'm trying my best not to relapse. Like you said, it's so easy to begin and it's soooo addictive. Okay enough about me, let's go back to you. Are you okay? ๐Ÿฅบ

  • Hannah Moore16 days ago

    There's a story to tell them, a strong one, which perhaps you can tell yourself, too.

  • Andrea Corwin 16 days ago

    Ooh, hard to hide and harder not to.๐Ÿฉท

  • Great work! Very well written!

  • D. J. Reddall16 days ago

    It takes courage and imagination to shed those long sleeves, Kodah; nicely done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.