Poets logo

Long Distance Friends

For Jesse and Nikki

By Genesis GonzalezPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

It takes a little time

What's mine is yours, and yours is mine

Oh I dream about you, miss you

When you’re gone

I’m learning how it works,

To be a lover, you're a friend first

Oh I dream about you, miss you

When you’re gone

I hold your hand to mine,

And I think about the passing time

When i miss you,

When you’re gone

I can’t control my hands

My heart fluttering it’s own dance

I hear your voice and speak your name into a song,

I catch my breath and stroke your hair

I follow you here and follow you there

I close my eyes and I miss you when you are gone.

I looked for you,

Searching high and low, where did you go?

The phone stopped ringing, where did you go?

I wanted to see you one last time, where did you go?

I wanted one last hug.

You gave the best hugs, where did you go?

I waited for you,

Knowing you would take a while

Things were beyond your control

Life was never easy for you.

I waited for you, where did you go?

I waited for you to get better,

Then I grew sick,

Where did you go when you caught my disease?

Where are you now? I am better

Why can I only hear you laughing?

When I know that I haven't heard you laugh in years.

I’m looking for you , an answer

I’m trying to understand why I can’t find you.

I hear your music, I see your pictures.

Why are you hiding?

I waited, knowing it would be better for you one day.

Why can’t I hold you one last time?

Why aren’t you here? You said we would be old when you left.

Now, I’m a mess.

Your mother is quite sore with you.

I never seen your daddy cry,

I waited for your call.

I waited and I knew,

When I got the call, it wasn’t you.

Everything about you is here,

Your laugh, your face,

Your song, your smell

I will wait by the door with the phone next to me, for you to call

And tell me it’s all better.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Genesis Gonzalez

I know a lot about a lot of things, but I'm never one to claim to be an expert. Aspiring writer currently a butcher.

la_femmebouchere on instagram

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.