Poets logo

Long Distance

A loss, a gain, a self divided

By Kit OlsenPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1

The road underneath the black hatchback passes in a blur of asphalt and faded white lines

Each line that passes by ticks like a second hand on the clock

Inevitable

Interminable

A countdown to something I don't know, nor want to find out

A countdown to comfort

To an argument

To embraces and laughter and tears and sorrow

They say home is where the heart is

I don't know enough to contradict them, whoever They are

I climb the twenty-two steps up to the apartment overhead

I counted them myself, every trip I made between

In the hectic back and forth of moving

Twenty-two steps, chipped forest green paint faded where the carpet was pulled up

And wood bowed under the wear of hundreds

Thousands

Of footfalls passing over them

In the years before I came to call this place "home"

If home is where the heart is, then why this dichotomy?

The people I love most welcome me as I leave the vehicle

I'm wrapped in warm arms

Kissed by partners

Left with joyous heartache as I know my time with them is brief

We talk and joke

Tell stories together

We've heard them all a hundred times before but will always beg to hear them again

I think it was Sartre who said,

"If you're lonely when you're alone, you're in bad company"

And it makes me wonder

Twenty-two steps creak and groan with every shifting weight

The key turns in the lock

And I am greeted with meowing cats who rub against my legs

Whether it's out of love or hunger is up for debate

I cook a meal, sit and eat it in front of the TV

I leave it on so I still have company

And sleep on half a queen-sized bed

"Bad company" indeed

My phone buzzes and I wake

To see your smiling face

Contained in a bubble on my screen

And for a few sweet moments

This place feels like home at last

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Kit Olsen

Queer poet, short fiction author, and long-time storyteller of all varieties. Feel free to stick around and see if anything catches your fancy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.