Poets logo

Lonely Love

"Too long a sacrifice can make a stone of the heart."-W.B. Yeats

By Vivian ClarkePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Lonely Love
Photo by Toni Reed on Unsplash

It doesn’t matter what you say

Or don’t say

Do or do not do

My love will not be dislodged

It’s always there for you

It lies within me while I sleep

And flies to you when I dream

It burns still when I am angry

Though that is not what seems

It collects in my sad tears

My loneliness, my fears

It laughs within me when I say I'll disappear

Because it knows I need you near

It aches within me on dark nights in my empty bed

My love is in my heart

It’s even in my head

It’s the small voice that whispers

“Stay”

Even when you go away

And I forget your love

And become blind

Loneliness is covering my eyes

And hurt opened my mouth

I hope you will understand

Even when things go south

I love you, never doubt

Which makes my pain worse

When your words don’t come out

2015

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Vivian Clarke

Third-culture-kid-now-adult with a melancholic disposition trying to make sense of life, like anyone else.

I live for my daughter, cats, and coffee.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.