Poets logo

London Bridge—If You Forget About Me

#VocalNPM

By Bianca LovelessPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

Medieval methods of torture have since been illegalized, yet I find myself laid to rest in this crevice.

The deepest parts of me that you use to commend me for keeping so hidden are now singed onto the most exposed layer of my skin.

I can't exhale without feeling your pinch, your love...your eyes begging me to try again.

But I can't.

I can't.

I couldn't.

I tried.

And now, I still want to.I still want youbut I'm three steps too early this time.

If you forget about me tonight

Curled under the weight of the person who has been pulling at your side since before you and I

Underneath a blanket of stars hidden beneath a layer of grime

When the roof starts to fall apart & you don’t reach for my side of the room to brace for impact

I promise,

I won’t tell you that I love you.

I promise.

I won’t even try.

I’ll turn the car around as the valley burns behind me

And leave our ancient love story behind.

art
Like

About the Creator

Bianca Loveless

ucla | black lives matter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.