Poets logo

lizard king

stomp and chomp and roar and claw

By Beth SarahPublished 17 days ago Updated 17 days ago 1 min read
2
lizard king
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

8:14 just me and mummy

cleaning cheerios off the kitchen floor

and I put on my shoes

pull the velcro strips a few times

give her a kiss and RAAWWR

out the back door and

stomp stomp stomp

up the garden path

to the trees at the back

my world.

*

And here I stomp and roar and claw for hours

looking for something to devour with my sharp t-rex teeth

chomp chomp chomp

lizard king of my jungle

*

until mummy says it’s time for a snack

then playgroup

where I stomp and chomp and roar and claw

with my dinosaur friends

and mummy looks tired

and sips tea with the other mummies.

*

Later, I am lying with my head

on my dino pillow

under my dino blanket

dino curtains closed

dino lamp on

cuddling Dexy Rexy

and closing my eyes tight

but downstairs there is shouting

now daddy is roaring

and stomping

and my heart is pounding

bomp bomp bomp

*

and I can’t sleep for ages

until I fall confused into dreams

of roaring and stomping and clawing

and ruling my jungle.

Family
2

About the Creator

Beth Sarah

We've been scribbled in the margins of a story that is patently absurd

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake17 days ago

    Lovely.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.