Poets logo

Living Within Me

My Heritage

By Dan R FowlerPublished about a month ago 1 min read

Living Within Me

Who are you, really, deep down inside?

I’ve had people ask me so I turn aside.

I’m many things, many places, and peoples,

And, for the record, I’m proud of each example.

Within me dwells a Scotsman who’s warm, generous, and tough,

Who will come to the forefront when things get too rough.

He’s a man fiercely proud and individualistic I’ve discovered,

With a dry wit, determined, and at his hand some have suffered.

Within me dwells an Irishman who loves his tea,

This trait is simple of which he exhibits passionately.

This Irishmen who lives within me possesses a gift of gab,

That can offend some glib who aren’t expecting it and that’s sad.

Within me dwells a German man who’s always free,

Efficient and disciplined with a sense of humor indeed.

He’s well-organized, punctual, and loves tradition,

Keeping my heritage in tact that’s his appointed commission.

Within me dwells a Scandinavian man committed to equality,

His adventurous spirit and loyalty abounds for all to be treated equally.

An environmentalist, a Viking, and all that resides within nature,

Is what he admires and strives to protect, to it he’s indentured.

Within me dwells a snippet of traits of a Nigerian man

With love of family, supportive, zealous, respectful that is his plan.

Possessing respect for elders, dignity of labour, and self-reliant,

To think of life to be any less would reject principles becoming defiant.

Within me dwells a residue of traits of a man from Cameroon,

Deep with the world of rain forests sheltered from the world’s gloom.

It is this man, this part of me I sometimes seek to find,

For he’s the one self-willed, supportive, and very kind.

Having penned this illustration, this truth of many to read,

These people are my heritage that help me to succeed.

It’s the blood within me from many parts of the world,

Filling me with admiration, each part a priceless pearl.

vintage

About the Creator

Dan R Fowler

Dan R. Fowler. 71, writing is more than a hobby, it's a place for me to become anyone I choose to be, visit mystical scenes, or swim deep within my brain. e-book paperback, or audible. type dan r fowler on the search line. Amazon

.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • ROCK about a month ago

    This was so touching and real; I like unexpected humour. Cheers!

Dan R FowlerWritten by Dan R Fowler

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.