Poets logo

Living with a Krunt

A Children's Poem, for Adults

By Jack 'The World Around Ewe' DevaneyPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like

I wrote this poem with the intention of starting a series of children's stories. After a few people listened to it they advised me it was in no way suitable for children, I guess I have to work on my subtlety.

It is entirely original, and I plan to illustrate it and publish it within a project I am privately working on. In the video you can see what I imagine a Krunt to look like.

I would love some feedback and if you felt like gifting that would be incredible, but I do not expect it.

See a transcript below —

***

'Every day has been a chore,

Everything they say to me a bore

Living with my mother, the matriarchal Krunt

I am forced to eat my greens,

I’m told it’s cool to wear my jeans

By my brother, but he’s just a Krunt

She stole all my pocket money

She swapped my kitten for a bunny

My nana doesn’t love me, my nana is a Krunt

This room is always dirty

I’m always scared he’s gonna hurt me

I’m talking ‘bout my daddy, the shed dwelling Krunt

The smell of old nappy’s make me gag

But we have to keep them in our bag

It’s from our new born baby, she’s just a little Krunt

Every night we hear loud bangs

Followed by the slow clapping of their hands

But our neighbours are not Krunts

In the shop we start to argue

With the folk who say “why you cutting into our queue”

This is every day out, when you’re living with a Krunt

In the car we stop and stare

And laugh at kids with ginger hair

I can’t go anywhere, especially with a Krunt

They’ve always made me welcome

But no one else is gonna help them

I know I have to tell them, it’s because they are a Krunt

I’m older now than ever

They thought that I was clever

I hated school, because my teacher was a Krunt

I dress up as clowns for children’s parties

But no one ‘round here’s going to hire me

It’s because they all think I’m a Krunt

I’m told its time to leave and start my own life

I’m left to roam under the street lights

What is it going to be like? When I’m not living with a Krunt

Recently I was mistaken as I passed through my train station

I heard a little utter from a lady as I shoved her

She said she thought I was a Krunt

“Mum, Dad, Nan, Brother” I thought I’d write you all a letter

I met my wife, you need to meet her

She thinks she’s living with a Krunt

You never just lived with us, we thought we ought to tell ya,

We’ll never not be proud, not ever

For in our eyes, you always were a Krunt'

***

I envision it as a book read to children by their parent, but in reality it's probably no good for children nowadays as they probably understand what "Krunt" is very close to. It has encouraged me to write a lot more, I plan to write children's poetry for the adult market. I love the idea of my books being in everyone's bathrooms or coffee tables. Everyone should have a Jack Devaney next to their toilet bowl!

Search for Uneducated Guesses on Amazon to see the book I have already published; alternatively search for WorldAroundEwe on Facebook, Youtube, Instagram, or Twitter. Contact me so I know you've had a look! I would love to hear your opinions so feel free to voice them on my Facebook page or as comments on my Youtube channel.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Jack 'The World Around Ewe' Devaney

I am a Taxidermist, Author, Illustrator, Idiot

Search 'The World Around Ewe' to find my facebok, Instagram, Twitter and Etsy Store

#WorldAroundEwe

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.