Poets logo

Little Mouse

A poem

By Josey PickeringPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
A wild mouse

I once was

a little mouse

who hid away in the ribcage

of a giant beast

who could have swallowed me

whole.

I made a home in their horror,

I made life in their death.

I nested in their vertebrae

and kept my acorn shells

and feathers

and wonders of the wild

free from the storm.

I wove vines

and leaves

and even bits of fur.

I made myself a little roof

and patched it with sap.

I found safety in their skeleton

until I got too big.

I grew and grew

the safer I felt

and no longer the mouse,

I became the beast I once

rehomed

and now I live again.

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Josey Pickering

Autistic, non-binary, queer horror nerd with a lot to say.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.