Poets logo

Little Dog

Ekphrastic Challenge February 2024

By Rae Fairchild (MRB)Published about a month ago 1 min read
2
Little Dog
Photo by Bianca Ackermann on Unsplash

This poem was written in response to the Rattle® Poetry Ekphrastic Challenge for February 2024 and was ultimately not selected. You can find more information here.

https://www.rattle.com/ekphrastic/

The image that this poem was specifically written about can be found here. (February 2024 – Christine Crockett's “Graphing Uncertainty V””)

https://i0.wp.com/www.rattle.com/ekphrasis/EC24Feb.jpg?ssl=1

Little Dog

The blacktop scorched in the summer sun

Roasting hot on your feet

I should have carried you in

But I thought you wouldn’t be scared

That you would behave this time

But something spooked you

Pulling back out of the collar

And I wasn’t fast enough to catch you

And you wouldn’t come to me as I called

Bolting out onto the road, crossing yellow lines

The car that tried to stop

Tires screeching, crumpled bumper

Blood stained asphalt

I held you limp in my arms

As I screamed

The vet bill as I tried to save you

But that evening

Shovel tip dug into soil

And I buried my little dog

Submitted under MRB

sad poetryFree VerseEkphrastic
2

About the Creator

Rae Fairchild (MRB)

I love to write; putting pen to paper fills my heart and calms my soul!

Rae Fairchild is my pen name. (Because why not? Pseudonyms are cool!)

I do publish elsewhere under my real name, Mary Rae Butler. (Fairchild, an old family surname.)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • GeorgianaReannaabout a month ago

    Make everyone ( $26,000 __ $38,000 ) A Month Online Making money online more than $20k just by doing simple work With No Prior Experience Or Skills Required. Be Your Own Boss And for more info visit any tab this site >>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Thanks a lot just open this link.======> Www.Moneypay1.com

  • simonneabout a month ago

    the vet bill as I tried to save you doesn't seem to work in my opinion.. but otherwise great work and good read

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.