Poets logo

Little Boy Lost

I'm stilling digging out the shame you planted in me.

By Jordan WarrenPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

I was young when I loved my first boy

Nothing wrong in it,

Too young to know this seed

Would flourish, spread in my ribs

Blooming into something

Not Quite Correct

He was beautiful and that was all I knew

All I ever needed to know

A seed became a sapling

Hungry for sunlight

Buried there in the dark

Fed by dreams that haunted me when I woke

Try as I might

To silence the dreams

To pull the thing out by the root

It grew, it clawed it's way up my throat

An impossible truth tumbled from my mouth

Like so many dried leaves

The voices, like lightning

Charred the branches, scarred the bark

But spring came again

There in the dark

Leaves grew thick and green

When I found love with another man

Branches have broken through the darkness

Touching the swollen belly of the sun

Sweet, warm golden rays

Touch my skin when he does

His arms are my soil, my earth, and my anchor

His lips are the water washing me clean

My scarred bark is stronger now

My roots hold me fast

When he kisses me

It is always spring

And I have earned my years in the sun

To love a man as I did, when I was young

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jordan Warren

University student || Poet || Adventurer || History buff || Bibliophile || LGBT

My writing deals mostly mental illness, LGBT themes, life as a student, life with chronic health issues and whatever else inspires me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.