Poets logo

Little Bird

Oh sweet, oh darling, oh little bird, oh angel, please.

By MargaretPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

What do I love more than you, little bird?

Not the sun, the moon, nor this world.

As you sing and you cry from your nest,

I remember the child I laid to rest.

As wildflowers sprout up from the crib,

There’s an aching sensation in my ribs.

Oh, little bird, why was my treasure taken?

Now my heart is alone, forsaken.

A hole just large enough to hold a bundle of joy,

Oh, little bird, was my soul a toy?

For I now understand why the earth cries for rain,

Like this planet I’d do anything to wash away the pain.

You and the world were mine when I had it all.

Now I can’t focus on standing tall.

Oh, little bird, will it ever ease?

I’m afraid if it doesn’t, I will cease.

Oh, little bird, rocks are his only guardian.

For I can’t follow him from this garden.

You have wings like the angels that took him,

Do the walls between here and there look thin?

Could you follow him to his newest home?

I can’t bear the thought of him being alone.

Oh, little bird, sat by the sun.

Oh, little bird, I think I’m done.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Margaret

To write and be written

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.