Poets logo

Little Beaver

The Eagle, Humbolt, and Me!

By David HallowellPublished 5 years ago 6 min read
Like

Little Beaver

Crossing the windswept prairie on my painted pony, in the early morning as the blazing ball of fire slow rises above the horizon, I feel it's warmth penetrate my weary bones as winged creatures of every sort buzz around my head. My featured friend so high in the sky, the eagle with its telescope eye watches over me. My dog humbolt lags behind chasing whatever he can find, though slower now he can still hold his own.

Older but wiser now I can still hear the thundering of the waterfall not far from my village and the shiny river that meandered past my home, it's waters lapping at its banks as it makes its way home to the place of its birth. I can hear the sounds of the camp in my little ears, a boy of 9 or 10, life was good before they came. Ah yes

Before those people came, where the buffalo used to roam. Where the rivers all ran clear, and we did not have to fear.

In a clearing by a river, the sparkling living river, lived a people free and wise, with the mountains oh so high. Across the open plain the grass grew wild and free. The air was oh so clean, somewhere in a dream.

My name was little beaver, I was just a little boy, I loved to run and play all day, all the sunny day.

My friend the dog named humbolt, and I would run so fast, as fast as we would run; life was so much fun.

My next best friend was the eagle, a noble bird indeed. A braver bird could not be found, in the whole world around!

All through the summer we were close, as close as we could be, the three of us would fly so free, the eagle, humbolt and me!

Adventures we would have, although risky some could be, you see my friend the eagle, would always challenge me. Climb upon this mountain the eagle he would say, or go into that big dark cave, you know you are a brave.

Of course my dog named humbolt would be always warning me. Don't listen to that crazy bird... You need to listen to me!

Of course I would not listen, to my faithful dog that's true. What the eagle said, was much more fun to do!

One day I ventured in to a cave, as dark as it could be, I should have listened to my dog, who is always warning me. I crept in to that big black cave, as quiet as could be, to my surprise and sudden shock, what it was I could not see. Then I noticed those bight red eyes, were looking straight at me. The bear than roared so loud at me, it made me have to pee.

I tried to run it was no fun, to be eaten by a bear, I said let's go to my feet, but they just would not hear.

Just in time in came my dog, as brave as he could be, he got the bear to notice him, and not to look at me. Then I ran out of that cave as fast as I could go. As fast as lightning in the sky... say don't you know!

You'd think I'd learn a lesson from all I did that day, but I was just a little one, I just went on my way.

Another time my eagle friend, said these words to me, "Do you see those horses, running wild and free?" If you had one of your own, you could be as fast as me!

Together we could go so fast, as fast as fast can go, what adventures we could have... humbolt you and me.

A horse would be nice, as nice as nice could be. But across the river I must go, to get a horse you know.

I am but a little boy and cannot swim that fast. And besides across the river I'm not supposed to pass.

You can always take your dad's canoe, you know he'll never know, he's gone on a hunting trip, and didn't forget his bow.

When he sees you with your horse, he'll be so proud of you, he will tell his friends, both near and far, how proud he is of you!

Come on little beaver, you know you want to go, to ride your horse so wild and fee, is where you want to be.

Of course my dog named humbolt was there to tell me true, don't listen to that crazy bird, he's just misleading you.

The next thing I knew, I was heading across that river, high above the waterfall, you know I was so small. The river it was now moving, as fast as fast it could go, that shinny sparkling river, could be my death I know.

But the thought of having a horse, was more than I could bear. So going across the river was the eagle's greatest dare. I was padding oh so hard with my little arms you know, but that now big scary river, just would not let me go.

I should have listened to my dog, who was always warning me. But crossing the shiny river was much more fun for me.

Now caught in the current, heading for the edge, faster and faster I was going, to my certain death. I jumped into the river just before she went over. My dad's canoe would be no more, what ever could I do?

I swam and swam from the falls, as hard as I could go, but all the swimming I could do... was just no good you know.

The sound of the waterfall was raging in my ears, pulling me ever closer, to the certain death I fear.

Just when I was at my end, and thought my life was through, along came humbolt my faithful dog so true.

He pulled me to the shore, as easy as could be, my faithful dog once again, came to rescue me.

Now I am laying on the shore, as thankful as can be. I started thinking to my self, is there a lesson here for me?

The sun felt good shinning down on me, with a gentle breeze so nice , the birds were singing in my ears as, clear as they could be. The wind upon the tree tops, the clouds so white and pure, funny how I never noticed... all things before.

I guess in that one moment, my life became clear to me! Maybe I should listen more, to my faithful dog you see.

Though our ego, will help us to be brave, you know that's true, we must not forget humility, for that is needed too.

For one without the other, would surly make us blue, so keep them close to you my friend and fight on to the end.

To conquer one's own ego and keep our lives in tune. We ned to be like humbolt as faithful as the moon.

As I ride from my village, now up in smoke, the sun now high in the blazing sky, it makes me want to cry. I pray to wak. un. da our God above, for the lesson I have learned, and for the greatness of His love.

I pray for forgiveness, for my enemies too.

I pray that they also, come to know you true.

For the ways of humility, are the ways of life and truth, with a smidgen of the ego, to help to carry us through.

So that's my story wise and true, a life long lesson learned, let it burn within your hearts, the eagle, humbolt and you.

-Stands with a Roar-

childrens poetry
Like

About the Creator

David Hallowell

Stands with a Roar ( as in thunder) As his native American name suggests; he speaks with thunder, in essence he has a message for all to hear. The messages is set forth in poetic style, like flashes on enlightenment for all to hear.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.