Poets logo

Listening to the Still, Small Voice of God

A Poem About the Miracle of God's Love

By Aaron Waddell - The Everyday MysticPublished 5 months ago 2 min read
1
Listening to the Still, Small Voice of God
Photo by Daniel Peters on Unsplash

I woke up this blessed morn

with so many things to do.

send an email, start a book,

finish your work and see it through

***

Pushing aside these worried thoughts,

I climbed the set of stairs

leading to my private room

and The Course of study there

***

Opening the sacred book,

with words I’ve found divine,

I opened to the bookmarked page,

to the lesson numbered Forty-Nine

***

As I sat with bated breath

wondering what this day would bring

What wisdom would I find inside

What words would cause my heart to sing?

***

The Voice of God, the message read,

speaks all throughout the day

And you can learn to hear it too

if in peace you long to stay

***

Devote to this 4 times, you will

Repeat it often on the day

And to a place of warmth and love

you will see the way

***

Hearing Voices? Rings in my head

Surely you are mad

If any hear you speak of this

they’ll fear that you’ve been had!

***

There are things both false and true

things of right and wrong

And that voice speaking to me now

is but the ego’s song

***

So sitting down in my usual place,

a bed bought for my dogs,

I started with the idea above

in hopes of lifting up my fog

***

Setting my watch for five minutes time

I began at once my quest

growing calm my frenzied mind

in closure, my eyelids rest

***

Past the din of guilt and fear

the questions of my worth

sinking into that place of peace

lying deep within the earth

***

As my worldly cares dissolved

a quiet voice came to be

I give you now in poetic form

the message relayed to me

***

Dear Child, intoned the voice

Do not be afraid

The way to heaven is now clear

The path, it has been laid

***

stirring me from this peaceful bliss,

my watch did gently shake

A reminder that I was to return

to the world of the awake

***

Resisting the call of the world of dreams,

my tears did softly flow

I love being here with you so much

I do not wish to go

***

Softly as the winter snow,

soothing all my fear,

in a tone brighter than the sun,

the Voice of God spoke clear

***

Everything is right, my Son

This lesson you will learn

Within your soul, I am always

and at any time you may return

***

Thanks for reading! I hope this message finds you well, my blessed friend!

I you would be so inclined to show your appreciation by buying me a coffee, you can do so here

https://ko-fi.com/aaronwaddell

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Aaron Waddell - The Everyday Mystic

Hello dear friend! I'm Aaron - Husband, Father, Writer, Engineer, Poet and Pickleball Junkie.

I write inspirational poems and stories of spiritual growth.

Be a part of my journey of self-discovery and search for truth.

---------

This is Me!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test5 months ago

    You really know how to capture a reader's attention. Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.