Poets logo

Listen: Do NOT Try Me

Poem and Challenge entry in one

By Judey Kalchik Published 8 days ago 2 min read
https://pixabay.com/users/geralt-9301/

Your writing has hallmarks of AI.....

What's it to you? You're a SPY!

Nope! But there ARE rules... here's the intel.

I'll write what I want- go to hell!

https://pixabay.com/users/

AI IS permitted, just needs to be attributed...

What?! How dare you stop my work from being distributed??!!!

Nope- not doing that, just sharing the rules.....

How dare you? Those are just for no-talent fools!

https://pixabay.com/users/tswedensky-1457785/

Well, while we're at it; about all the comments you 'copy paste'...

Not Duplicate! All Original! You're a bully, BOLD-FACED!!!

Dude, this smoke screen you're building seems meant to distort...

Bully! Humiliator! We all agree you are BAD! REPORT!!!

~

OK; I've said what I said, now you do what you'll do...

I'll spend the next hour leaving posts, taunting you!

Or you could, I dunno , follow the rules that exist.....

I won't stop until you're on the BLACKLIST!

https://pixabay.com/users/thedigitalartist-202249

What's that quote? "Methinks thou protesteth too much...?"

I'm commenting on ALL THE THINGS, One a minute, or such!

Listen mister, you're giving me way too much credit....

You'll be sorry you told me how to copy-edit!

https://pixabay.com/users/maklay62-182851/

Whatever: the comments you write are all scripts...

So? Who care? I want the Leaderboard and many, many tips!

And (at least some) of your content unattributed AI...

What's it to you? I don't need to comply.

~

What are you to me? Why not much at all....

I speak for the masses; we all want you to fall!

Sure, ok. I do hope that's not true....

And on behalf of them I'll just keep hounding you.

https://pixabay.com/users/hnnng-15965496/

This is getting nowhere, you'll never be part of the community

I don't believe You! Or Standards! I act with impunity!

This poem is the last time to you I'll respond

I did it! I won! You're all conned!

~

Although this has been a real crimp in my day....

I'll write what I write and I'll say what I say!

You can have the last line and get the last word

I'll make that Leaderboard- YEAH! My dream won't be deterred!

~

If you all don't know what this is about, well- I am happy for you. Today has been a massive pain in the ass.

I leave you with this:

I am a paying Vocal+ member, and also have chosen to be a (very small) investor in the Vocal platform. Receiving reads and meaningful comments is important to me, and only possible if readers interact with my content.

Clogging the site with unattributed AI-generated pieces pushes down genuine content, cheapens the experience, and is a needless distraction to platform writer/creators.

Copying and pasting lengthy or (and to use their own word) 'complex' pointless comments, placing them on Top Stories without making any connection to the content in order to attain Leaderboard rewards or pretend interaction... it's wrong.

It could also lead to someone looking closely at the rest of the content a person had written... say well over 90 pieces (including a winning Challenge) within the past 30-ish days.

I believe AI is a tool, and I accept and understand that is is permissible on the platform. Adhering to the Standards to use it, to attribute it, is part of responsible usage.

`

comments appreciated

Mental Healthsocial commentaryslam poetry

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (20)

  • Mike Singleton 🌜 Mikeydred 🌛7 days ago

    Well stated

  • PP7 days ago

    Good one. Now the time, it's hard to differentiate AI written content or human written content. Sometimes ai detector detect human written content as ai generated and ai generated as human written. We can't completely believe on any tools. I believe AI generated content without human touch is like salt-less food.

  • Cathy holmes7 days ago

    Thank you for this. I was was disappointed when I saw the challenge win, but didn't call it out. I'm not educated enough on spotting AI to accuse in that case. I do know I get AI comments from person though.

  • Hannah Moore7 days ago

    Your storytelling is truly exceptional. The narrative was not only compelling but also beautifully crafted. I hope you know that!

  • Hope Martin7 days ago

    I don’t understand why people do this AI nonsense anyway isn’t the purpose of write because we want to write? Why have an Ai do it for us? That defeats everything

  • Rachel Deeming7 days ago

    And so, Judey used words, words which she spirited out of her own head without the aid of AI, to craft a compelling poem which was also a biting piece of invective. This, Vocal, is what writing is about. Don't applaud the ones who can get a computer to do it for them and question it if they vehemently deny it because people don't like to be called out. I'm with you, Judey. Stand firm!!

  • BrettNotGreg8 days ago

    I’m glad you so flawlessly addressed this! Fantastic, well-written, relatable!

  • Ah, you're talking about Dr. Jason Benskin. I'm so glad you called him out. I was particularly disappointed when he won a challenge. Like doesn't Vocal do a background check?

  • Mother Combs8 days ago

    <3 brilliant, as always, Ms Judey

  • Babs Iverson8 days ago

    Wonderfully penned!!! Loving it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Bravo, so well written

  • This was so well-written! I am curious who the person is but hopefully they will learn something here… I also noticed many copy pasted AI comments lately 😟

  • Wonderful poem, first off. Also, I think I might know who you're referring to (maybe). Thanks for addressing this!

  • R.C. Taylor8 days ago

    My absolute QUEEN! Brilliantly addressed. Hats off to you! I hope Vocal uses this situation to finally set a hard line about AI and they also address the harassment <3

  • D.K. Shepard8 days ago

    After reading this piece and Hannah’s plus the comments of other people frustrated by these interactions and undisclosed AI, I feel a bit better! Still frustrated and angry for sure, but less alone. Also this is a clever and brilliant dialogue poem, Judey!

  • WOW! I READ IT! KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK WITH SPOTING AI!

  • Dana Crandell8 days ago

    Unfortunately, there are some that will never listen, no matter how patiently you spell it out. Well writ, Judey!

  • kp8 days ago

    woof! i don't know what this is about, but it was very well executed.

  • Paul Stewart8 days ago

    Well bloody said...with charm and eloquence that only you can wield, Judey! I know what this is about and I am so glad you did what you do best! I had first thought the perputrator was a contributor...he was giving nice comments and stuff...then the copy/pasting happened. off my subscriber list now. If I had the energy, I'd do a little cheerleader dance for you, or something!

  • Unfortunately, I have a strong idea of what you're talking about. Hopefully, things will work out and certain people will learn from this.

Judey Kalchik Written by Judey Kalchik

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.