Poets logo

Liqueur of the Heart

refreshing

By Marie WilsonPublished 16 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - April 2024
14
Photo by Aaron Schwartz

Consider the word consider. From the Latin "considaire", meaning "to observe the stars", the word can be broken up into con (with) and sidus (heavenly body) - but there's no need to break anything up to understand.

Rather: sit - in some stillness and peace, and consider the situation or the person or the things. Consider life, death, the price of eggs. Take your time. Don’t jump to conclusions. Do not rush consideration. Do not hasten deliberation.

Look at the facts, muse on the emotions, ask questions, talk to friends, speak to the wind. Wait. Ponder. Moodle. Free-form thinking then focused inquiry.

Consider consideration – what is the objective of the thoughtful session? Toward this end choose, edit, select. Don’t censor, but brainstorm. Then whittle. Then reconsider: consider again. Distill. Distill to a fine gold essence. Call it liqueur of the heart. And mind. Strike the aromatic balance.

Call it Consideration. Take a long slow drink every now and then.

inspirational
14

About the Creator

Marie Wilson

Harper Collins published my novel "The Gorgeous Girls". My feature film screenplay "Sideshow Bandit" has won several awards at film festivals. I have a new feature film screenplay called "A Girl Like I" and it's looking for a producer.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 8 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Kendall Defoe 12 days ago

    Excellent! Top Story I should ...consider. 🏅

  • Yay and congratulations for top dtory! 🥰

  • Hmmm nice and thought-provoking! I like how you call it distill and consider 👏👏👏

  • JBaz13 days ago

    ‘Take a long slow drink….’ Now that is a lesson in how to live life. Wonderfully written. Congratulations

  • D. D. Lee13 days ago

    I really enjoyed the wordiness of this piece. It’s my kind of writing. Congrats on T.S.

  • Paul Stewart13 days ago

    This is gorgeous writing. Moodle made me smile and just the conversational flow of it all. It felt like you were sitting there...recounting these beautiful considerations to me personally! Brilliant, just Brilliant, Marie! I must have missed this originally...so glad it got Top Story - congrats on that. So very deserved!

  • Andrea Corwin 15 days ago

    I liked this - and moodle - new one! Nice job.

  • Fascinating breakdown! Thanks for sharing this Marie!

  • Rachel Deeming15 days ago

    Marie, I love this! What a way to start my day! I don't know what it is but you have warmed my very innards with this piece today. It made me feel quite joyous. I was going to call it a tonic but your liqueur metaphor is just wonderful and so much more apt. I LOVED IT.

  • Babs Iverson16 days ago

    Fabulous!!! Loved your inspirational poem!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.