Poets logo

Liminal Spaces

A Message from the In-Between

By Bex JordanPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - January 2023
60
A Train Station at Night

I've been pondering upon

Liminal spaces,

Those in-between places

That are not quite real

And seem out of sync

With time and tide,

The allies and backdoors

And breezeways that serve

As passage for people

Who are coming and going;

A train station at night

Or towns that exist merely

As respite for travelers

Who rarely stay long

But leave fingerprints and

Impressions that stain,

Ghosts against the grain.

There's a feeling of foreboding in

Deadends and abandoned attics–

You must mind your footing

Lest you fall through the cracks,

Disappear into the Neverwhere,

Forgotten, a dream that fades

At break of dawn.

--.".--

I think maybe I need to

Find myself in one of these

Lost places, in order

To rewrite my story.

Because I'm tired of

The self, the image, the ego,

I'd like to rebuild

From scratch the world

Society provided for me.

Yearning for holy deconstruction,

An unlearning of

Preconceived notions

That no longer serve.

I'm ready to forget

All the rules and walls I've

Set up, surrounded by expectations

And regret. I'm more than

They thought, and I want to

Release the idea of 'enough.'

So, excuse me while I

Step inside this mushroom ring,

Feast on pomegranate,

And surrender my name

To the first fae I meet.

Allies and Backdoors and Breezeways (oh, my)

social commentarysurreal poetryinspirational
60

About the Creator

Bex Jordan

She/They. Writer. Gardener. Cat-Lover. Nerd. Always looking up at the sky or down at the ground.

Profile photo by Román Anaya.

Instagram: @UmaSabirah

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • Rob Angeli11 months ago

    Truly masterful, just discovered it. You enter the threshold spaces of self and world in verse so dexterously. I'm new here, give my poems a look if you get the chance. Congratulations on the prize.

  • Alison McBainabout a year ago

    I love the emotional journey in this poem - it starts us off with displacement, emptiness and ends with embracing the magical. Lovely! And congrats on the contest, Bex.

  • Caroline Janeabout a year ago

    Wonderful.

  • E.K. Danielsabout a year ago

    It's not every day you read of liminal spaces and faery rings. Intriguing and beautiful, and a lesson we can all learn for growth. Subscribed, and looking forward to more!

  • Allie Bickertonabout a year ago

    Through re-reading this multiple times I relate to it more intensely. Perhaps you’ve found a way to put into words the stagnant feeling I’ve felt in my own life for years. I now identify with the last few years of my life as being trapped in the Neverwhere. You’ve reassured me that being on this journey through the Neverwhere was and is necessary and meaningful and a part of me now… that everything is going to be okay.

  • Allie Bickertonabout a year ago

    I never saw the ending coming and I’m in love. I’ve recently watched some videos on the explanation of liminal spaces. I enjoyed the excellence of the words you have curated on the topic. Very deep and personal.. there’s depth to it that I don’t fully understand and I appreciate that.

  • Ward Norcuttabout a year ago

    A trip to take, indeed. This is in interesting and entertaining read!

  • This comment has been deleted

  • This comment has been deleted

  • i really can relate, great composition!

  • Daniella Liberoabout a year ago

    A great poem to read in the early hours in a rain storm when you're experiencing some existential angst yourself. Powerful images and an elegant clarity. I really like the cadence produced by your line breaks and syllable patterns. Well done!( creepy ending - will we or you really know who you are anymore ?)

  • 👍💯❗❗

  • Seni Haksabout a year ago

    Creepy but an interesting poem good on you.

  • Manpreet Singh Bhinderabout a year ago

    Awesome poem.

  • Erica Wagnerabout a year ago

    Very much enjoyed this poem — read in the liminal space of new year.

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    Lovely and oh so relateable!

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Absolutely astonishing, I’m in awe

  • Aphoticabout a year ago

    This is great! I only just recently learned about the concept of liminal space, but this is really well-written. I love the way you connected it to feelings of being stuck/tired and depicting the liminal spaces as some sort of erasure or reset from the world. At least that was one of the ways I interpreted it. This is deep and thought-provoking, I love it!

  • hammad sattarabout a year ago

    good

  • Doc Sherwoodabout a year ago

    Great poem, Bex! Anthropologically, Arnold van Gennep is the one to read on the cultural significance of liminal space. I love "backdoors" in your first stanza, because the word liminal is derived from the Greek, "limes" (pronounced with two syllables) meaning "doorposts." Speaking of the Greeks, your classical allusion to the pomegranate in stanza two is just perfect, as the myths associate that fruit with passing between worlds. I'm sure you're aware of the above, but I just wanted to note it here so that other Vocal readers would see how carefully crafted is your poem!

  • This comment has been deleted

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Kali Mailhotabout a year ago

    Love this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.