Poets logo

Liked

Being liked is being accepted.

By Tifany WalkerPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
4
Liked
Photo by Devon Janse van Rensburg on Unsplash

Scroll.

Scroll.

Scroll.

Like.

Scroll.

Wait.

Like?!

But she looks so fat and its a really bad angle for her.

Are you sure you want to like that picture?

"Yes. She's my friend, I have to like her picture... Even if I don't like it."

Why?!

"Because that's friendship."

What?

So you're telling me that friendship is lying?

"Well. No! I'm saying that friendship is liking the pictures no matter how ugly they are."

Ohh...

So, like, pretending to like the things they like too?

"Yess! Exactly."

Why?

"Well because you want to be accepted no matter what."

Why?

"So that you're not alone."

But... it's fake.

"Maybe, but it's better than having no one."

I guess...

But wouldn't you rather have no real friends than tons of fake ones?

"You don't get it. It's not about real or fake. It's about not being alone."

But-

"No. No more 'buts.' It's my life, my decisions."

Okay...

Instagram.

Scroll.

Scroll.

Double tap.

Doesn't work.

"ugh."

Double tap again.

Screen is frozen.

"Damn it. Why are you doing this."

Ding ding.

Text message.

You should go like my new Insta pic?

Who is she?

Your mom???

"No... My friend. And I'm trying... Why won't you let me like her picture?"

Because you don't actually like it and you know it.

"Doesn't matter, I have to like it."

No.

You don't actually.

All you need is to do is not use Instagram anymore.

"Just let me like it... I wont comment."

Fine...

Open instagram.

Scroll.

Scroll.

Find the picture.

Like.

Click comment.

Freeze screen.

"UGH! You are so frustrating!!"

It's for you.

"I don't want it!"

You need it.

Open Instagram.

Close Instagram.

Open Instagram.

Close Instagram.

Open Facebook.

Close Facebook.

Open Snapchat.

Close Snapchat.

Open Twitter.

Close.

Open.

Close.

Open.

Close.

"Ugh. I'm done with this. You need to let me on."

Only if you promise to like only what you actually like.

"Fine..."

I'll know if you don't.

"I know, you like everything I like."

Open Instagram.

Scroll.

Scroll.

Scroll.

Scroll.

Scroll.

Scroll.

Wait.

Analyze.

Think.

Like.

Nice flowers.

"I know right. Beautiful."

Yes, they are.

Comment: Those are beautiful! What kind are they?

Peonies.

"Wow..."

I know.

Sleep.

Rest.

Text: I think we shouldn't hang out for a while...

You can't do this. You don't decide when we stop being friends. I do. And guess what. We're not friends anymore.

Unfollowed and blocked on Instagram.

Unfriended and blocked on Facebook.

Unfollowed and blocked on Twitter.

Unfollowed and blocked.

Unfriended and blocked.

Unfriended and blocked.

Unfollowed and blocked.

"What did I do?!"

You made sure your next friendship is real.

"I guess..."

Instagram search.

Scroll.

Scroll.

Scroll.

Scroll.

Scroll.

Scroll.

Scroll.

Stop.

Wait.

Wait.

Analyze.

Like.

'You look really cute in this photo' *heart eyes emoji*.

"That was a nice picture don't you think?"

Yes. Very. *smiley face emoji* *winkey face emoji*

Maybe she'll want to be your friend. *tongue sticking out emoji*

social commentary
4

About the Creator

Tifany Walker

Just a girl trying to live out her dream of being an author.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.