Poets logo

Like a Phoenix Rising From the Ashes

A poem inspired by life's challenges

By Rasma RaistersPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
1

Like the Phoenix,

I will rise from the ashes,

of all of my yesterdays.

I might have been down,

perhaps always with a frown

but I know that I will rise once more

and then I will be reborn –

like a star shining brightly once more,

your memory etched upon my mind –

the days of our love blazing across the skies.

Heartbreak might find me,

tragedy unexpected,

turning my bright days,

into never-ending nights.

Never is life fair,

it doesn’t promise rose gardens,

but if there be such gardens –

then full of brambles and thorns.

Blissful days that ended,

when love faded away,

the loving memories remain,

waiting for the pain to go away.

Together we can be strong,

in a love so true,

but tearful and fearful,

when love suddenly goes,

is no longer there,

nothing but silence –

from morning till night.

Love that was once so beautiful,

can hurt so deeply,

as memories like rushing waves,

come surging forth.

Nothing can be done,

until the dark clouds part

and once more out comes the sun.

Memories like reels of film,

keep playing in my mind,

until peace, I can find,

love hurts

and leaves a fragile heart behind.

Like the Phoenix,

I will rise from the ashes,

of all of my yesterdays.

I might have been down,

perhaps always with a frown

but I know that I will rise once more

and then I will be reborn –

like a star shining brightly once more,

your memory etched upon my mind –

the days of our love blazing across the skies.

art
1

About the Creator

Rasma Raisters

My passions are writing and creating poetry. I write for several sites online and have four themed blogs on Wordpress. Please follow me on Twitter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Fiery Trippers | Travel Tips9 months ago

    nice

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.