Poets logo

Like a Fairy

A poem about the sparkly mask we wear. 🧚🏻‍♀️✨🎭

By Gina C.Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
10
Image created with Midjourney

Ghosts were pounding on

my door last night...

in the form of

[[winter storms and rain]].

I imagined

--a gigantic--

face was drowning

(in her tears)...

just outside my window pane.

What is it with these fucking nights?

(I ask you)...

I can never sleep, --I'm always--

wide awake, watching the time...

(and despite the protest of my body),

I know I'll rise and

get dressed just for coffee -

(once the dawn breaks and I'm)

[[caged inside the day]] LOSING MY MIND.

*

I can't explain it, but

I'm pretty sure I'm in a circus.

I {am sane} but,

my subconscious haze has

[[done me a disservice]],

>>I'm not fine<<...

I am {{airy poetry}},

and like a fairy

I will sprinkle stardust here

(and there)

and everywhere; all over me...

but in the darkness, I'm still searching for

a sparkly purpose to define.

*

I heard the howls of

tortured souls last night...

in shapes and shadows

just behind the [[walls and ceiling of my room]].

I imagined

--a gigantic--

face was drowning

(in her tears)...

just beyond the doorway of the moon.

What is it with these fucking dreams?

(I ask you)...

I can never reach them, (but)

I taste them, like

>a grape

a tangerine...

(and despite the inner battles that I wrestle),

I know I'll eat the poisoned apple

of the devil -

(once the dawn breaks and I'm)

[[putting on my mask again]] pretending I'm

*~*SERENE*~*.

*

I can't explain it, but

I'm pretty sure I'm in

>>A SIMULATION.<<

I'm {alive} but,

I'm oversensitized to

[[stimulation]], everything is so extreme...

I am {{airy poetry}},

and like a fairy

I will sprinkle stardust here

(and there)

and everywhere; all over me...

but in the darkness, I'm still searching for

a way to silence all my raging,

[[inner screams]].

*

Footsteps walked into

*my heart* last night...

and with [[a vengeance]] they

tore out all my many veins (and)

>>somersaulted on<<

my nerves;

then I imagined

--a gigantic--

face was drowning

(in her tears)...

somewhere in this lonely universe.

What is it with these fucking nights?

(I ask you)...

I can never sleep, --I'm always--

running rampant in my mind...

(and despite the protest of my body),

I know I'll rise and

get dressed just for coffee -

(once the dawn breaks and I'm)

[[forced to be the "me" who "wants" to be here...]]

and the

me who doesn't, convoluted...

INTERTWINED.

*

I can't explain it, but

I'm pretty sure I'm in a nightmare.

I'm {not scared} but,

there is pressure...

there is pressure everywhere.

But I am {{airy poetry}},

and like a fairy

I will sprinkle stardust here

(and there)

and everywhere; all over me...

but in the darkness, I'm still searching for

the ME, (the giant)

who is crying...

and a sparkly costume I can wear.

*

-Gina C. 🧚‍♀️✨

Welcome to my ✨Surreal Poetry Series✨. :) If you enjoyed this piece, you might also like this one:

Thank you so much for reading! ☺️ I'm working really hard to grow my community on Vocal, so if you enjoyed this poem, I'd be over the moon if we could be friends and support each other here!

I reciprocate all comments, hearts, and subscriptions. :) ❤️

surreal poetry
10

About the Creator

Gina C.

Achievements:

  • Twice-published in Vocal's Moment of Freedom Collection:

My Soul of Red

Free Verse

Free-Form poet of ethereal style🧚‍♀️✨

Fantasy writer

A sucker for a good rhyme☺️

Fueled by a conflicted soul of fire & water

TT: poetry.in_pajamas

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Beautifully done. It was a dance of dreams and nightmares. Love it.

  • Veronica Coldironabout a year ago

    Oh this one really reaches deep!! I love the way this feels like a waltz. Beautiful poem!!

  • sleepy draftsabout a year ago

    Oh, I just adored this more than words can even express. There is so much honesty, beauty, and raw feeling in this poem, told with magic. Absolutely incredible!

  • Holly Pheniabout a year ago

    Oh. My. Gosh. Gina! This is stunning, I was completely drawn in through every last word! "The me that wants to be here, and me that doesn't, convoluted, intertwined..." emotional mastery.

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Wow the way you structure your poems. The imagery you are so talented

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    The imagery and emotion is this is incredible. Fabulous piece, Gina.

  • Whoaaaa Gina, this was fantastic! This is how I usually feel and it's been worse than usual for the last couple of days. It's like you entered my head, took the chaos inside there and turned it into words using pixie dust. You never fail to amaze me with your poetry!

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Amazing poem! Wow! The imagery, the emotions, the lucid dream (nightmare) brought to life. Felt I was watching a video and feeling a beat. ❤️

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    I felt this. I felt the bone-tired, searching, frustrated, weary tone. At least that's what it spoke to me. As always, your language is just fantastic. Loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.