Poets logo

Light in the Dark

A flight of fancy?

By Michael BPublished about a year ago ā€¢ 1 min read
1

Amidst shadow of night

I wandered the ancient wood

My heart filled with cold, cold fright

Of stories left untold

But then I saw a glimmering light

A shuttered lantern held

By hooded figures, shrouded in the night

They beckoned me follow, and I was compelled

The trees around me come alive

Their branches twisting, turning into shapes unknown

I felt this a dream, but could not thrive

In knowing if it be good or prone

To nightmares dark and cold

But then I came upon a clearing, bright and bold

A tree, it glowed golden and shone

Against the trunk I took my rest, and felt at home

A sleep fell upon me, so deep

And when I woke, I could not keep

The memories of that night

Was it real or just a flight?

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Michael B

A left brained guy with a long running notion to do right brained things. Iā€™m only hoping to become better at it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Ā© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.