Poets logo

Lifted

A Poem

By K.B. Silver Published 11 months ago 1 min read
Like
Lifted
Photo by David Rodrigo on Unsplash

A weight has coalesced upon my outer form.

Like dumbbell clouds of concentrated strife.

Every thought and every move is weighed down by cosmic doom.

Spending ages searching out a counter to the constant looming ever-present danger.

They say the pen is mightier than the sword,

but can it support the weight of ages and fight demons imprisoned inside flesh and bone?

Will the arch I painstakingly built, setting stone upon stone stand up to the assault?

Can it even bear a load?

The corbel dome is built on letters words and phrases,

spreading the oppressive pressure down to the foundation.

Finally the amazing weight of the cloud pounds in droves thundering above me.

A storm I could not predict or avoid.

At least inside my wordy abode, there is shelter from the wind, the rain, the cold.

Most important, I have lifted the burden, of my own heavy load.

K.B. Silver

sad poetryinspirationalheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

K.B. Silver

Writing to sort the trapped ideas, and unsaid words left inside my mind. My brand is BlockWife. I am reselling, writing, and creating content on multiple platforms, check me out on link tree https://linktr.ee/blockwife

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.