Poets logo

Lifesaver

I am here because of grace

By Edwin White JrPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1

The universe fell in love with my stubborn heart,

Create the art,

Dedicated to play my part, threw all the beef and extra spinach inside the cart,

Motivated and accelerated like this was the very start,

Unstoppable as the obstacles try to to stop me,

Hit em with the reverse lay up I seen they wanted to block me,

My only competition is the mirror, conversations with God help me see everything clearer, as I draw nearer,

My soul’s expensive so that means my walk and path is different,

Don’t brag just stay consistent,

Remember all the goals that you envision,

Stay on the mission, even when they hate to see you winning,

I seen it coming, cunning I sat by myself grinning

Thankful, humbled and grateful for it all,

The Lord is graceful so I’m praising him in the hall,

Never fall, even when my back against the wall,

Go to your local mall you’ll probably see me on a poster,

How’d I get here? Not doing what I’m posta,

Ironically I thought this would make the process slower,

But these the exact same things helping me in this moment grow up,

Still working and searching to find relief,

Dealing with grief, I sit alone finding my peace,

Dreams in reach,

Don’t care who feel a way about it, I got bigger goals,

I got big shoes to fill so I’m stretching out my toes,

Bolder than Mt. Everest, this moment you gotta cherish it, evident

Evil in this world look at our presidents,

History, a mystery, God the plug we the middle men,

Mediators minding my business the people listening,

Him Duncan, the Spurs protect my Achilles heel,

In movie reels wonder if this moments real,

How does it feel to finally know that you made it

To open doors, marble floors, influencing conversations

Debating whether or not if you truly are the greatest,

I’d say it’s more about the person you become on the way to your destination

surreal poetryperformance poetryart
1

About the Creator

Edwin White Jr

LIFE IS ART AND YOUR WORDS ARE THE COLOURS...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.