Poets logo

Lifes Journey

And Beyond

By Denise WillisPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Lifes Journey
Photo by Matthew Henry on Unsplash

My comfort in youth was belonging to a peer group and a family who loved me

My comfort as a young adult was knowing I was part of the future, building the dream

My comfort as a middle-aged adult was knowing I had given back to the world and was still giving, even though I was slowing down

My comfort as an older adult was seeing my children grow up, happy and productive, and seeing my grandchildren thrive

My comfort as I grew older was in the word of God, and the promise of a good life if I believed in Him

Then something changed in my heart and I began to stray from the past and the present, learning another way

Technology passed me by, and with each day I was falling behind in all I tried and didn't understand the world as it was anymore

I was standing on the outside looking in, and no longer part of the game

I couldn't contribute to anything but was slowly making my way out, and then I understood

Once we find ourselves on the outside of the fence of life, it's time to start walking away, and with a smile and a kiss blown gently to my old life, I began my new journey

fact or fictioninspirationalsocial commentarysurreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Denise Willis

I love art as much as writing, and when the world feels dark, I get out my paper and colored pencils and draw while listening to music. When my husband and I were going through a divorce, journaling is what got me through that..

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.