Poets logo

Life's Verity

We need to live in a world where there’s no limit on living

By Jacklyn CaseyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Not looking to be named or that of fame,

Just wanted someone to know my pain.

Though the lyrics don’t pull at my heart strings the same,

it still applies and would count to be recognized.

I hear this voice inside my head who spews rap venom like Eminem -

but he’s a God and I’m an angel with no wings,

cut down by societal lies, head-spinning but it’s never justified,

drowning just below the surface, the pain never resides.

No matter what I try, I’m battling monsters with blacked-out eyes;

coming at me from all sides, stabbing like I’m some kind of pin cushion with jelly inside.

No emotion associated with the darkness that lies – so deep I’m drowning,

pulling me down, I’m no longer floating, just wishing,

and hoping for a hand to pull me up cause I’m choking.

The thoughts I’m trying to express are simply caught in slow motion,

I’m supposed to be high above the line, not being dragged down behind.

My mind is clouded, and I can no longer see the blues in the sky.

Vision blurred I’m sinking, mind shrinking,

Tunnel vision so narrow I’m wishing, hoping,

For someone to reach down and bring me back to the notion,

to live a life where breathing doesn’t feel like I’m croaking.

Do you know what it’s like to live a life where you can’t be yourself,

because they think that you’re joking,

I figured by this time society would know how to properly function,

instead of judging those who live their lives in colorful pride,

A moment of celebration isn’t enough to make up for a lifetime of denial

of what is, and what’s right.

It just adds to the strain of a delusional life, fifty-two years shouldn’t be years,

it should be life,

and not just a moment in time for the celebration of pride,

celebration of life, or what defines your individual life,

lifestyles of all kinds shouldn’t spiral until it’s their time to shine,

we need to live in a world where there’s no limit on living,

Or being yourself for just a moment in time.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jacklyn Casey

Methodical writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.