Poets logo

Life's Masquerade

A Villanelle Poem

By M.J. CarlockPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
4
Life's Masquerade
Photo by Julio Rionaldo on Unsplash

I play a game of pretend,

Still asking myself why,

I force a smile once again;

Amidst a sea of sardonic grins,

Donning a role I despise,

I play a game of pretend;

Like a balloon facing down a pin,

Struggling so hard just to survive,

I force a smile once again;

Dying a little more within,

Fighting back the urge to cry,

I play a game of pretend;

Mind going to places I've never been,

How I wish to run and hide,

I force a smile once again;

Will this charade ever end?

I hope; but it won't tonight;

I play a game of pretend,

I force a smile once again.

Villanelle
4

About the Creator

M.J. Carlock

I find that words are powerful; regardless of their form, they carry influence over our lives, and we must wield their power with both wisdom and heart.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    Gosh this was extremely relatable! Loved your Villanelle!

  • Ronnie Lewis 4 months ago

    interesting

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.