Poets logo

Life's Dance

for Gilles - first in a kindness series.

By Lori MeltonPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 2 min read
9

This is a poem that I wrote for my amazing friend Gilles Marini after he gifted me with his Argentine Tango shoes that he wore during his second-place finish on Season 8 of "Dancing with the Stars."

He scored a perfect 30 with Cheryl Burke for that dance. He made hearts swoon and people weep all over the world with his performance. Those shoes are a magic talisman, a priceless gift, and one of my most prized possessions.

We've been friends ever since - for almost 12 years now. He's an international actor and model, philanthropist, devoted husband to his wife Carole, and loving father to his children Georges and Juliana.

Gilles' long list of film and TV credits includes "Sex and the City," "Brothers and Sisters," "Switched at Birth," "Devious Maids," "Teen Wolf," and so many more.

We met shortly after I left an abusive marriage. His encouragement and belief in me opened my heart, prompted me to launch my freelance writing career - and helped my spirit dance - while I've never been physically able to dance due to cerebral palsy.

Gilles is known for doing many random acts of kindness - and he's one of the most compassionate, and humble people I've ever known. He's given shoes off his feet and clothes off his back to people in need countless times. His generous, incomparable spirit inspires me to love harder and give more to my fellow man.

I've told him numerous times that I can't believe how lucky and blessed I am to have him as a friend - and honorary "Uncle" to my son.

Covid has taken such a toll on everyone's spirit. Writing for Vocal has renewed my desire to write and hopefully touch someone else's heart.

So, I'm launching a series on kindness - something that we can never have too much of right now. I'd also like to thank all the talented fellow creators here on Vocal. Your pieces have lifted my heart, opened my eyes, and pushed me to stretch myself, write better, and more often.

It's comforting to know there's a community of people here with a similar passion for storytelling and the written word - as well as many other forms of art and creative expression. Keep pushing, keep creating, and keep dreaming!

I thought that publishing this poem here would be the perfect way to kick off my kindness series. I hope you enjoy!

Life's Dance

If Life is a Dance

Let mine be the Tango

So Passion

Leads

My heart

To draw

The Dreams

That seem

Impossible

To touch

Or reach

Into a close embrace

Face to face

Cheek to cheek

May I seek

With every

Twist and turn

To lean

And bend

To help

A Friend

Or pull

A Wounded

Soul

In tight

Light

The dark

And Spark

Hope

Where

There

Was none

Before

My Dance

Is done

May others

Recognize

The Song

By which I

Move

Believe

And Breathe

Is

Love …

- Lori L. Melton

inspirational
9

About the Creator

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydredabout a year ago

    I had already read this wonderful poem , but I can now comment

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.