Poets logo

Life Measured by Beer

Interjected with Shots of Jim Beam

By J.D. BradleyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

The first sip, being birth is always pleasant, but then

as you continue this lifelong beer

things occur to you (or should)

about the injustices of the world

but you continue your beer, because, well, beer.

Now you have two glaringly apparent choices:

Get sloshed drunk and forget everything

that is apparent to you, or

continue to drink because it numbs the pain

and fight back.

Take another drink; always take another drink.

Before you know it, you will be old.

The beer you have been drinking has gotten old too.

It’s as if there is some algorithm out there to keep us down.

(there is)

I’m about 8 million beers down (and clearly prone to exaggeration)

I am measuring my life by beers, shots (of Jim Beam) and pussy.

It’s a different kind of standard than most can understand,

but in my defense, I fight against totalitarianism and

my fight frees you also. Have a beer. Tell the bartender it's on me.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

J.D. Bradley

I've had a very different kind of experience.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.