Poets logo

LIFE IS A RAINBOW

I am Color

By Theodora GreenPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
LIFE IS A RAINBOW
Photo by Laura Ockel on Unsplash

I am the color of the rainbow with colors undiscovered. My blood is red, and if you cut me, you will see that my skin is brown, and I am a mixture of those that have come before me and wanted this freedom that I enjoy every day and for that in grateful.

My hair is like the seasons. It is forever changing sometimes with my personality, but mostly my hair has its mind to express itself. You see, I am now slowly popping out grey here and there, and I love it; it speaks of my life I have lived.

My teeth are not the brightest white, but if you ask me to smile, I will, and you can see that little bit of off white that is not so popular, and that would be only part of me, not popular, not looking to stand out just looking to get along and so far, I have done just that by being my colorful true self. I have shined like that star in the blue-blacken night sky, sometimes shining more brighter than at other times, but yet I shine. I shine for myself, my parents, my children, and others.

I do not have one favorite color because all colors are beautiful: white, yellow, black, brown, and the mixture. When you see me, you will see the brown, but I am that mixture that I recognize in life if you look deeper. This is my passion for looking for everyone's uniqueness that makes us all the same because I realize that in me.

I blossom and change like the butterfly in nature with every decade that goes by. I am not the same woman I was in my twenties; I am not the same woman I was in my thirties, and I am not the same woman that I was in my forties, but I am a culmination of all those past women that makes me the woman I am today.

I accept my differences as an expression of how I view the world and how the world views me. I am the color of the rainbow with colors undiscovered, those colors of purple and pink that depict what I think is my femininity.

I do not look for the horror that consumes us in our everyday existence. I do not accept the atrocities that life throws at me. I take those negative energies and recycle them into the upbeat and positive voice of hope, and I take that energy and wear it as my armor daily.

I use my voice not to degrade and humiliate but as a platform to embrace and listen; I mean, really listen to the world around me and find out what part I play in this place we call earth.

I am not perfect. Oh, far from it, I have flaws and imperfections, but these are what makes me uniquely me. I am the rainbow with colors undiscovered, those colors of purple and color that color pink that depicts what I think is my femininity, my masculinity.

My passion is for life itself, for the people around me. Every piece of me enjoys what life must bring and what is yet to come to the experience and the unexplored.

I am the rainbow colors, because my colors are bright and they fluctuate, they are in an uneven pattern of harmony that makes me uniquely me, and you see, I am the color of the rainbow. My passion is when I get out of bed to start my day and ponder who I will meet and how we are uniquely different. You see, I am the colors of the rainbow because you are the colors of the rainbow. The only question is can you see my colors because I see yours, which is my uniquely similar passion.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Theodora Green

Unique in my eyes woman of color 52 years young inspired to write books on healing and acceptance .

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.