Poets logo

Life Is a Comfort Sandwich

Enjoy Every Bite

By Samia AfraPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
4
Photo by Sara Cevera on Unsplash

Ca,

Ca,

Ca,

Comfort is …

Blanketing the ocean over my strong slippery shoulders,

Inhaling the savory, salty, peppery potato-chip air,

Digging my teeny-tiny toes into

The mouth of a grand-dame river of gravy goodness,

And winking at the doorman of my mastermind.

Ca,

Ca,

Ca,

Comfort is …

Eating a peanut butter and banana, gooey guilty gargantuan sandwich,

Laughing loudly at a lingering joke,

Completing a New York Times crazy crossword in pen,

And marveling in Morse (wo) man code

At the volumes of sculpted, shapely superheroes.

Ca,

Ca,

Ca,

Comfort is …

Touching raindrops on rosy, red apple cheeks,

Wading waist-deep in a bathtub full of prepared pesto pasta,

Humming my favorite sappy sad songs,

Searching for wondrously witty words,

And sipping on sparkling sangria.

surreal poetryinspirational
4

About the Creator

Samia Afra

I'm new to this, so go easy on me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson12 months ago

    Delightful and comfortable!!! Love it!!!💖💕

  • Stephen Kramer Avitabileabout a year ago

    So beautifully written! It made me want a sandwich, or maybe pesto, it definitely made me want something. I think your poem just forced a second lunchtime. So well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.