Poets logo

"Life in Review"

Subterfuge in the Name of Success

By Jeffrey P BaileyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

“Life In Reviews”

She took my hand to write our story

She wanted her coffers filled

And unto me her first blackmail a mere ruse

implied threats to sell me down the river

All because of ill-begotten reviews.

It was written by the tension in my teens;

the repression of having to cover in front of someone else

who was perpetrator

of the abuse;

something else which I had to play off

as if I could never speak the truth.

It was written all as though it were fly-by-night but always predictable;

as with you my adrenaline rushed

But there was no fight or flight response;

It was written I, the nerd spaz, could not fight back;

That’s why at almost fifty-years I am,

as it is written,

susceptible to flushed adolescence.

When you win by the theft

Of my composure you see through my words

which on a screen are to your disapproval and suddenly those words are of meaning bereft.

Not to say it is written I had to be your conquest;

If as imagination has revealed, I can let my words out and put a new lease

on a life of weakness,

then maybe it is written

karma will eat away at you

As you write your life in review.

book reviews
Like

About the Creator

Jeffrey P Bailey

Fan-funded. https://account.venmo.com/u/Jeffrey-Bailey-115

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xf5DZupaqo8&t=125s&ab_channel=ScottAlanSpiritualEssence

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.