Poets logo

Life Defined

Story of our lives

By Edward ValPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Visual Poem

Life Defined:

You were born from the earth as all things are,

and one day you will dissolve much like the stars.

Nothing can stop these motions in place;

all one can do is patiently wait;

for the cord has been cut, its length though unknown;

minutes pass as sure as we die alone.

So strive for nothing but happiness, love and peace,

and do the best you can before you cease.

There's only so much time in a day,

and each day quickly flowers, then fades away

into a vast expanse of ever-flowing time,

and nothing can make it stop on a dime.

So with all simplicity take what you're given,

make the best of each moment and get on with living,

for truly our lives are but a flicker in flame,

of hopes, of dreams, of trials and pain.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Edward Val

I'm a poet by nature and a Soldier by trade and my writing reflects my experiences not only in life but also in war. I use writing as way to express myself and deal with the horrors I've seen and hope my words can help my fellow Veterans.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.