Poets logo

Life Changing

A Poem by Keila Aartila

By KJ AartilaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
20
Life Changing
Photo by Clicker Babu on Unsplash

Today

I say goodbye

to me, myself and I

candle’s flame flickers with new light

Tonight

***

Tonight

I lay awake

watch the moon rise over

bringing tides to wash clean the sand

Silence

***

Silence

commits my heart

to a golden sunrise

color breaks free of the slow clouds

Daylight

**

Daylight

optimism

dawns, revealing choices

I’ve fought too long, hidden by try

Purpose

***

Purpose

from now, forward

clarity fills my veins

trembling, but sincere, my voice speaks

My truth

Thank you for reading! Does it speak to you? I would appreciate a share if you liked it.

inspirational
20

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • This comment has been deleted

  • Gina C.2 years ago

    This is really lovely, Keila! I really like how you began each stanza with the element from the prior. :) Beautiful job!

  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    Beautiful poem!

  • Kat Thorne2 years ago

    That was so beatiful!

  • Miles Pen2 years ago

    Simple yet very profound! I would love for you to check out my work.

  • Steven Dean2 years ago

    Good imagery. Nice theme.

  • Lovely prose, so moving it feels like a personal daydream to me. Beautiful work!

  • AES2 years ago

    I love the format of this so much, it creates a really unique rhythm that works in tandem with the theme. Really nice!

  • Penny Fuller2 years ago

    I love the first line/last line format here. It definitely caught my attention. My favorite line was "color breaks free of the slow clouds..." Great work!

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    Lovely poetry. Thanks for sharing!

  • Bri Craig2 years ago

    Beautiful!

  • The Dani Writer2 years ago

    Insightful work, Keila!

  • Kiki Le Tigre2 years ago

    Really enjoyed this!

  • This was a beautiful Crown Cinquain. I loved it. I've done one as well but I've not submitted it yet

  • I was sure I had read this, but I hadn't . Pure Beauty.

  • Lena Folkert2 years ago

    Beautiful❤️

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Very nice

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Loving this!!!

  • ArtisKev N.2 years ago

    Of course, I like it! Love to see more of this from you😃

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.