Poets logo

Letters to Mom & Dad #1

♥️

By Troubles in my past.Published 4 years ago 1 min read
2

I remember your reaction as clear as the crystal I used. It wasn’t until my visit home I realised what I had abused.

The Love of my family, you found it hard to get to grips, With the problem I had, you didn’t want me to end up on drips.

When I told you about my addiction, you wouldn’t like to hear, I wasn’t ready to put it down, I’m so sorry I wasn’t near.

I needed help, but I wanted to feel connected, But With these shiny shards, my body was being neglected.

Its out of this world, you have to understand, Staying clean is no easy vacation in Thailand.

With rehabs closed, recovery centres too, You locked me up like Rapunzel, I had nothing to do.

I know I’m selfish right now, but I’m trying my absolute best. To be a better person, one day again you’ll soon be impressed.

Will I move back to Canada, I don’t even know, But I promise I won’t go back to being High and being Low.

I know you see Vancouver in such a bad light, It’s where your son almost turned off his light.

I don’t know what happened, I lost my ID. Not just in my wallet, but completely all of me.

The pain you went through its only now I see, you really are trying your best, to try and understand the issues with me.

Our fights are dramatic, but its because you care, Because a family without love is something I couldn’t bare.

Ill write another sometime soon, Other wise ill be writing this until the next full moon.

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Troubles in my past.

Writer.

Poetry mainly about my struggle with addiction, relapse and the ongoing journey through recovery.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.