Poets logo

Let Me Take You There

A Poem

By Mihaela VasilevaPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1
Let Me Take You There
Photo by Andrew Neel on Unsplash

One day, you approached me and said,

"Wouldn't it be better for you to wed?"

I laughed and said that wasn't quite fair

For I was wed to the sea and I was already

there.

There? Where? At which sea?

Why, there, of course. Come with me.

Let me take you there and you will see

how much and how little it means to thee.

You care not for the oceans and rivers

You'd rather play games with bows and quivers.

You'd rather watch paint be painted and dry

The worst part of this love, was that you didn't even try.

You care not for the forests and mountains

You'd rather drop pennies in luckless fountains.

You did not wait for me when I called.

You just left, with nothing ever being solved.

Let me take you to see the stars dance their piece.

They are much better at playing catch and release.

You had caught my hand and we danced one song

Then after you told me to move along.

So, let me take you to the hall

Where you had only looked, but not noticed all.

Do you remember the jewels on my fingers?

The sight of them, fear only lingers.

Not because of how I am afraid to lose them, no.

But because the amount of eyes that don't want to know.

Rather those eyes want to steal and take me away from my dream.

But a dream is a dream, sewn tightly, but with rips on the seam.

Let me take you to my dreams,

But you just don't care, it so evidently seems.

Whatever the reason, let me make my mind.

For you were so deviously kind

That even your kindess played a crucial part

In the breaking of my already broken heart.

I cannot see my dreams no more.

They were broken, beat, and buried

right at the door.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Mihaela Vasileva

I write based on heart. I love based on thought. I think based on truth.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.