Poets logo

Let Me Introduce You To The Rest Of Our Family.

We are here to welcome you happily.

By Denise E LindquistPublished 8 months ago 2 min read
7
Let Me Introduce You To The Rest Of Our Family.
Photo by iSAW Company on Unsplash

While sitting on a bench in the local art museum,

I became aware of a person standing or was it?

I was concerned about having some delirium.

There were some oddities to the person, quite a bit,

the face was not distinguishable,

and the body looked like a stack of record albums.

To others, it appeared the person wasn't indistinguishable.

I know some won't know an album. Oh crumbs.

~

My granddaughter sounded like a broken record, she had no idea. Then I said a cracked CD, she looked at me like... what!!

Maybe it was my vision or even my mind going. Am I a crazy person, a nut?

I heard, pardon me? The person didn't look like I originally thought.

I said are you speaking to me? Of course! I needed time and I bought

some time by saying, I have heard of you a few times in my life. You come from a different place, right?

It wasn't my sight!

There was a nod of the head.

Oh, dread.

What now?

Take a bow!

~

No, no. Is offering to take them to my people sappy?

My grandchildren were somewhere around here and would be happy

to meet this traveler from another place.

Growing up I heard we are from space.

I had to cover more than once when that came out in public.

I said, "He is getting old and likes to tease," then I would laugh and feel sick.

Would this crabby old woman believe me?

She never said anything more to my glee.

~

Just then a couple of grandchildren came by

and said hi,

and then before I could introduce them they were gone.

That was rude. The visitor replied they would be here until dawn.

They were here to talk with just a few people and I was one of those chosen.

Others may or may not see them or they may appear as a statue, frozen.

You know everyone we would like to talk with.

Your elders are on our list as they know we are no myth.

~

Can you leave and take us with you soon?

We won't be long on this planet, dawn or only until noon

tommorrow or the day after!

Then there was laughter.

The grandchildren were coming back around

and one of them slipped and fell on the ground.

Are you sure, we are the right people to talk to?

Yes, we are here to see your elders and you!

~

We are here to find out if there is anything we can do

We fully intend to go back to our home.

We are satisfied with an occasional roam

to visit relatives and see if we can assist

We have helped in the past and will get a list

Start thinking of what you wish to ask for.

We usually take back a list that could've been more.

Is there something you would like to see while there?

Yes, you and your elders are who we wish to see here.

We will be happiest to be allowed to talk anywhere.

~

slam poetryperformance poetry
7

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    This was so wonderful! I enjoyed it so much!

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Love this, Denise!!! Magnificently written!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great poem!

  • Awesome 👍 ❤️📝😉👽

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.