Poets logo

Lessons from Parents

The Wisdom Passed Down from Generation to Generation

By Stephen OkechukwuPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Lessons from Parents
Photo by Alex Shute on Unsplash

In the quiet of the night,

When the stars are shining bright,

I think about my parents,

And the lessons they taught right.

They taught me to be brave,

To never fear the unknown wave,

To stand tall and face the tide,

And never let my courage fade.

They showed me the power of love,

A gift that descends from above,

And how it can light up a life,

And bring warmth to every night.

They imbued within me the worth of toiling,

That effort and persistence never shirk,

And that success comes to those who strive,

And with each challenge, they thrive.

They taught me to cherish the little things,

The simple pleasures that life brings,

And that happiness can be found,

In the beauty all around.

From my parents, I learned to be kind,

To have empathy for all humankind,

And to treat others with respect,

And love that is pure and perfect.

So here's to the lessons from my parents,

And the guidance that they have lent,

For they have helped me become,

The person that I am, strong and true to some.

May their love and teachings be a legacy,

That is passed down for eternity,

And may their light continue to shine,

Guiding and inspiring, in heart and mind.

surreal poetryperformance poetryinspirationalchildrens poetryart
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Stephen Okechukwu is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.