Poets logo

Lesser Expectations

A poem about singleness

By D'Shan BerryPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Lesser Expectations
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

Lesser Expectations

I have become Miss Havisham,

Stood up by life itself.

Caged by the corners of my past,

My heart sits on a shelf.

In the still, there's a loneliness,

An ache always around.

A hollow place inside my chest

Is where the pain resounds.

I yearn, sometimes, for affection

Too absent from my world.

I long to have another's arms

About me, gently curled.

'Tis only human I should miss

Connection of this kind.

Like solitary confinement,

It messes with one's mind.

I have my family and some friends

To help to ease the pain

Though they love me the best they can,

It often seems in vain.

It's like I'm lacking a receiver;

I guess I just don't fit.

The sidelines of relationships

Are where I'm called to sit.

Though never chosen for romance,

I'm more or less content.

Encouraging others love has found

Is still a life well spent.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

D'Shan Berry

I love words. I love art. I love Jesus.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Pieces of Me ~ Poems by Heidi2 years ago

    Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.