Poets logo

Lend Me Your Ear

Deaf Awareness

By River Cronan Published 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Lend Me Your Ear
Photo by Shifaaz shamoon on Unsplash

Lend me your ear

So that I may listen to your piano play.

I shall stretch my fingers across the keys

While you produce a scale of your choosing.

Lend me your ear

And your accent might register

As Different than everyone else’s.

Perhaps I have an accent, too.

Lend me your ear

And the mist of the sea could finally have a companion,

The lapping of each wave against the shoreline.

My eyes and ears are one.

Lend me your ear

For you never bothered to learn my hardships.

Too content are you with hearing to notice my discomfort.

What does it matter to you -

If I can’t hear your gossip?

Lend me your ear,

Or I can lend you my sign.

artinspirationalnature poetryperformance poetrysocial commentarysurreal poetrysad poetry
1

About the Creator

River Cronan

The Ocean is magical,

And so is reading,

I find Shakespeare worth repeating. 😇

I find Shakespeare worth repeating. 😇

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.