Poets logo

Leaving Coventry

Coventry to London Euston

By Daisy FlorencePublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

A couple of years ago I was visiting friends at University in Warwick. The train ride home was a little scary for me as I'm not as confident as I used to be. The journey was later in the day which meant that I would arrive home around 10:30pm in the dark.Just a bit of fun. But there was that underlying melancholy of leaving a familiarity and going out into the unknown alone. To keep me sane I send a string of messages to the friends I had just said goodbye to. These two poems are the product of those messages.

Looking Back To Coventry

Staring through the window The doom-ed train ride I watched the sky grow darker With you not by my side And as the wheels are turning I shed a single tear The feeling of abandonment As I don't have you near My wonderful companion So sad - we part today I'll miss you every moment This train does trail away

Coventry - London Euston

The journey now is bleak The train itself is small I'd love it if it took less time Or took no time at all Unfortunately I'm stuck here For two more hours still Crammed into four coaches It's making me feel ill I hope I get there quickly I'll listen to some songs I'll try to pass the time Though I know - It will take long

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Daisy Florence

Hi - I'm Daisy. I'm an amateur poet and I have a lot of feelings to express. Have a little read and let me know what you think of my writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.