Poets logo

Learned From The Best

by Mel

By MelPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Everything I learned,

I learned from you.

Whether it was

how to block out the world

during my worst moments;

or how to

use headphones to my advantage

when I want to escape;

or even how to

survive in this

screwed up world;

that was you.

You taught me that.

You were the missing piece

that my life was needing.

You were the one thing

my young self needed

in order to keep

my head screwed on.

Everything I learned,

I learned from you.

You taught me how to

refuse to get help,

no matter how far I'd hurt myself.

You taught me how to

avoid help from those

who want the best from me.

Everything I learned,

I learned from you.

Why wouldn't I

want to learn from

the best of the best?

Why wouldn't I

adapt my survival skills

around the one person who

seemed the most stable in my life?

Everything I learned,

I learned from you.

Take it as a compliment;

this is the one thing

that keeps you from ever

disappearing out of my life,

even after I'm long gone.

This is the one thing

that keeps us connected;

even when I want to break free.

Take it as a compliment;

this is the one thing that

keeps giving you the one thing

you've always wanted from me;

no escape.

heartbreakperformance poetrysad poetryslam poetrysocial commentary
Like

About the Creator

Mel

Ever since I was a kid, I've always wrote for fun. I never saw anything of it; I just wanted to write just to write. That's why I love Vocal.

she/they

instagram: stufflestream

tiktok: mercuryandme

youtube: Melon Melon | TheMelonVlogs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.