Poets logo

Lawrence

Social Anxiety....*At Night*

By Kiki Le TigrePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Lawrence
Photo by z yu on Unsplash

Have you ever been surrounded by a sea of TVs?

Thousands of squares playing little memories

Clouding my mind and pulling my sheets

Making my toenails feel too big for my feet

But in this mosaic of doubt

There is hope still

Just so long as I have my will

And even though I am fighting

Kick

Slap

Punch

My red eyes refuse to swell shut

There's a horrible restlessness in my gut

It won't say what it wants

It just wants out

***

Oh

Hello good memory

Please don't leave

I shut my eyes tight and the scene is retrieved

Wasting time at work

Learning to draw

A man next to me asked for a portrait with awe

It was the first time I drew someone and when I was done

His face lit up with a smile

He took it home to his mum

Shortly after this

He invited me to his church

Said I could play my djembe and show them how it worked

I never did go

I almost forgot this man's name

Now here we are

Full circle

Right back to shame

slam poetry

About the Creator

Kiki Le Tigre

Kiki Le Tigre is a part-time poet, part-time human, committed to honest self expression. This expression is made public in hopes of inspiring others, or creating a connection point for those who may feel lost. Email: [email protected]

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Denise E Lindquist2 years ago

    Thank you💕

Kiki Le TigreWritten by Kiki Le Tigre

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.