Poets logo

Late-Night Effort...

A Requiem for a Good Night's Sleep

By Wolé Marville Sr.Published 3 years ago 1 min read
3
Late-Night Effort...
Photo by Krista Mangulsone on Unsplash

Where do you go when the mind won’t slow...?

When the thoughts don’t stop, but instead, continue to flow...?

I often over ponder, leaving my mind to go wander...

Revamping ancient decisions fabricating a life faux fonder...

As if I could make it all better with a magic wand...

Focusing on a fixed past instead of the shapeless beyond...

Why am I scared of out yonder, so scared of the future...?

My mind gushes irrational indecisions... I need a suture.

But being lost in thought doesn’t always leave you clueless.

Wise words of a fool who would rather run shoeless...

But as the story goes, a wise man always knows that he truly knows nothing...

So even though he speaks from the soul, on some level, he’s actually bluffing...

How many yesses should’ve been nos or noes been yeses?

How many times were profound answers only keen guesses?

Correct guesses, get called sound advice for being so strong...

But know that damage is done when guesses go wrong...

Hopefully, my guesses were wise or at least lucky enough to count...

The guilt is paramount as I’m sure I’ve been wrong my fair amount.

But where did this all come from all this wallowing and steeping?

Instead of chasing all these scattered thoughts... I should be sleeping!

Late-night effort to drain my brain is not going quite right...

Hope you’re having better luck than I am... Be well and g’night.

surreal poetry
3

About the Creator

Wolé Marville Sr.

Educator and youth sports coach. Married, father of four, who loves sports, movies, and music. Closer to 40 than 30, figuring it out, day by day. A story-teller from a family of story-tellers trying something old but in a new way.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.