Poets logo

Last Nisus

Food for the mind

By Cat Estevez MartinezPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

My curious nature has gotten the best of me....darkness is all I see.

It's so dark...

I stumble on to a floor, cold wetness scrape my face, its blood...

I see it, a road ahead ..

A light so bright, is that my way out?

I follow it now on my knees, I can barely breathe...

The closer I get I feel the cold breeze of the sea, I can smell the saltwater.

I fall again this time to my knees even harder.

I am too weak, I cannot stand... my frail body was beaten and bruised.

The light it's moving ... no!

Further and further, I try to crawl to the light.. my knees bloody and still I

reach to pull further.

My fingernails torn, but I will keep going, praying, and screaming with all

my might.

Anyone's God hear my call tonight?

I feel my eyes closing... is this the end?

I'm too weak, with only one good hand, I dig my hands in o the sand and

pull forward again!!

No sleep, no sleep, must stay... awake!

I want to feel the warmth of the sun I must go on!!

Inch by inch, I crawl, my breath grows faint...

I haven't much time, so ... much... pain.

Help me, help me, my final screams.. and as my eyes shut

for the last time.

I thought I felt the sun on my hand.

I pull myself forward again.

Ahhhhh, the warmth of the sun on my face

Ahhhh, my sweet warm embrace ...

As I lay in a pile of sand, as my last breath leaves me

My nisus has come to an end.

xoxo love Cat

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Cat Estevez Martinez

just Started writing again...from the Bogie Down ..STORy ORIGIN : NY Rican! Born and Breed! ALL about change growth and no ruler or labels

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.